
The Submarine Mining Establishment for Halifax was located on Georges Island. The initial Submarine Mining Establishment was built between 1873 and 1876 and remained operational until 1906 when the sea mining responsibilities were handed over to the Royal Navy. The various buildings in the Mining Establishment were linked by the usual narrow gauge railway. There was also a pier for the deployment of the mines.
The Establishment was built in two phases. The first phase was between 1st June 1873 and 8th December 1876. The cost of the works was £1,298. The buildings were built along the Northern shore line with a gun Cotton Tank, Loading Shed, Connection-Up Shed, Cable Tanks and Torpedo (mine) store.
Between 1885 and 1893 it was expanded with new buildings and stores.
This Youtube video gives a good overview of the Submarine Mining Establishment on Georges Island https://youtu.be/tLsZEagdsWY?si=tfHrmnAuWiyR9fK9
TNA MPHH 1.181











