
Frenchman’s Point Battery was initially proposed in 1888 to mount a pair of 9.2-inch BL gun and a three of 6-inch BL guns, all mounted on HP mountings. The site was purchased but no work started at the location. Actual work on the battery commenced in September 1900 and was not completed until 1905. The new Frenchman’s Point Battery mounted a single 9.2-inch Mark X BL gun and a pair of 6-inch Mark VII BL guns in barbette emplacements. The Owen Report of 1905 found Frenchman’s Point Battery to be unnecessary and it was down graded to reserve status. The 6-inch guns were used for training only. The Battery was reactivated in December 1914.
During the 1920 the battery area was used as a holiday camp but was reused during World War 2. Initially two 6-inch guns were mounted in the old emplacements, by three new 75. BL guns which were mounted between November 1941 and July 1942. The new emplacements were in front of the original battery. The whole site was abandoned in 1943 and the site backfilled and buried. No physical remains can be found at the site.