
Selby Ordnance Depot was built as a result of the army reforms introduced by Edward Cardwell, Secretary of War between 1868 and 1874. In 1889 the main powder magazine was built by the War Department along with some separate explosive stores. While the main magazine held explosives the out building appear to have been primarily used for small arms ammunition (SAA on signage). It is thought that the initial phase of building was the main magazine and area within the boundary wall. This Depot was linked to the main railway line running from Selby to Market Weighton. There was a large rail transhipment shed for moving items from the main line railway to the local 20-inch narrow gauge railway line. The corrugated iron building were both built before 1905.
The site has some later additions but the main significance of this site is that the original configuration has largely survived. Many of the original wooden door have also survived, some with painted signage. Of note is that many of the original doors have a small circular peep hole in that which had a shutter covering it. The Police when on patrol could used the peep hole to examine the interior without going into the building itself. It is assumed the peep hole covers were brass to avoid sparks, and most have been taken.
The general site image is credited to Gordon Kneale Brooke / Selby, Old MOD Ordnance Depot / CC BY-SA 2.0.
We have not been able to find any original plans for this site. Records in the National Archives (UK) dated 1909 to 1919 mention security by the Metropolitan and East Riding Police (MEPO 2/1329).
Thanks to Alistair Graham Ker for help in preparing this plot with research and images.




















