Reserve Oil Store

Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
Posted on January 8, 2025 / 11

The Reserve Oil Store was built at the same time as the engine room as part of the Munden’s Point Electric Light Engine Room.  Built between 20th June 1898 and 19th January 1903, the Engine Room and Reserve Oil Store was built before the Defence Electric Lights on the cliff edge below.  The total cost of both the Engine Room and Reserve Oil Store was £2,539, a few hundred Pounds over the budget approved.

The Engine Room had two oil tanks and a singe Engine.  The Reserve Oil Store had seven 600 galleon oil tanks running along both side of the building, giving fourteen tanks in total.  The Reserve Oil Store, plans of which can be seen in TNA  WO 78.4957, has largely survived to this day but is in a poor state of repair.  It is therefore an important architectural artifact of a not very sturdy building.

    Related Listings