
Munden’s Hill Lower Battery (Munden’s Point Battery) is located below the main battery on the top of Mudden’s Hill. It is immediately above the Defence Electric Light positions and is composed of an old smooth bore battery, and a later casemated battery. The Battery was first developed between 1673 and 1708 with a long trail built up to it from the town centre. A gun platform was built across the point, and the smooth bore guns were mounted en-barbette. This gun platform still survives.
Plans dated from August 1868 (TNA WO 78/2895) show Munden’s Point with a magazine at the position now occupied the Engine Room. There are already three casemates in the battery and these plans show proposals for an addition two emplacement built out on the original casemate. We can therefore assume that the three 7-inch RML guns were already installed by 1868.
Plans dated 1st February 1895 shows Munden’s Point Battery with three 7-inch RML gun placed in a casemated battery on traversing carriages. There is a magazine and shell store. These plans were drawn up when consideration was being given to converting this casemate to 6-pdr Q.F. emplacements.
In 1900 the Munden’s Point Battery with three 7-inch RML guns was converted to mount two 6-pdr Q.F. guns. The middle gun position was blocked-up and the old shell store had additional concrete protect added to the sea facing side for it to be used as a crew shelter. The ammunition store was in the old magazine on the left of the battery. (TNA WO 78/4957). The old magazine is now replaced by a new oil engine room with the barracks adjacent.
By 1902 an additional two 6-pdr Q.F. emplacements were also built on the old smooth bore battery. One emplacement, which has survived was built adjacent to the Engine Room and Barracks, while the second one is shown in roughly the position where the Upper Searchlight now stands.














