
Munden’s East Battery is approximately 230 metres from the Munden’s West Battery, with both emplacements being similar in design. Some returns refer to this as Munden’s Hill Battery, along with the 7-inch RML casemated battery below. This was initially a position for smooth bore guns and latterly three 68-pdr guns covering the sea approaches.
The single 68-pdr smooth bore guns at Mundens East Battery was removed by 1889. There had been proposals to replace this with a 7-inch RBL guns in 1882 but the 68-pdr SB was subsequently replaced with a 9-inch RML guns of 12 tons between 1889 to 1890. It must have taken considerable effort to haul the guns up the cliff from the shore line at Munden’s Point.
In about 1900 this 9-inch RML gun was in turn replaced by a new 6-inch Mark VII BL gun on a pedestal mount. This 6-inch gun were certainly in position by 1907. The old 9-inch gun dated 1872, was discarded at the rear of the battery position where it can still be seen. A new gun emplacement was built but the old magazine and underground works for the 9-inch RML were re-utilised.
A few feet from the gun emplacement in a battery command post with pedestal for a depression range finder.
Some 50 metres from the battery is a small building with three rooms. It is assumed that this was barrack accommodation for the gunners.

















