
Nodes Point Battery was a location where a fortification had been considered as early as 1860 but nothing was done until 1800 when the Montgomery Committee recommended that a 9.2-inch Battery be built in this area. Nodes Point Battery was built between 16th August 1901 and 20th April 1904 at a cost of £21,654. It was built to mount two pairs of artillery pieces, two 9.2inch Mark X, BL guns and two 6-inch BL guns (One Mark IX and one Mark X). The Owen Report of 1905 concluded that the 6-inch guns were superfluous to need and they were removed in 1909.
In 1918 a single 4.7-inch Q.F. gun was mounted in the left hand vacant 6-inch emplacement to function as the Examination Battery covering St Helens Roads. This 4.7-inch gun was moved from South Sea Castle and was removed from Nodes Point Battery in 1928.
By 1932 both 6-inch emplacements mounted a Mark VII, 6-inch BL gun as the examination battery. The 6-inch guns were provided with mantles to provide some protection from aerial attack while the 9.2-inch guns were provided with stell covers similar to that which survives at Breakneck Battery in Gibraltar.
In 1945 the Battery was placed in care and maintenance. Between 1949 and 1956 the 6-inch Battery was used for training.
The whole site is now a holiday park and most of the features have been destroyed with only traces remaining.














