
Listing Type : Coast Defence Battery
Location : England
Watch House Battery, also know a Watch House Break Battery (1890), was built on the edge of Straddon Heights above Fort Bovisand. Initially armed with three 64-pdr RML guns in 1875.
The battery was remodelled between 1901 and 1903 to mount two 6-inch BL guns.
In 1912 two defence electric lights were built immediately to the east of Fort Bovisand, which can still be seen. These were directed by the Night Director, Officer Commanding Electric Lights, who was from 1911 in Watch House Break Positions Finding Station below.
A Battery Observation Post was built immediately below the battery.






