Munden’s West Battery is approximately 230 metres from the Munden’s East Battery, with both emplacements being similar. Some returns refer to this as Munden’s Hill, along with the 7-inch RML below. This was initially a position for a smooth bore gun covering the sea approaches. There were at least two mortars behind the gun emplacement and facing toward Jamestown and the beach (James Line).
In 1883 Mundens West Battery mounted one or possibly two 68-pdr guns and had two 13-inch Mortars behind to cover the beach and defence lines of Jamestown. The proposal was to replace the 68-pdr SB guns with 7-inch RBL guns. The mortars were to be replaced by rifled howitzers. This was superseded in June 1883 by the Inspector General of Fortifications, Sir A Clarke, who recommended a single 9-inch RML gun for the battery.
The 68-pdr SB were finally replaced by a 9-inch RML guns of 12 tons in 1886 to 1887. It must have taken considerable effort to haul the guns up the cliff from the shore line at Munden’s Point.
In about 1900 this 9-inch RML gun was replaced by a new 6-inch Mark VII BL gun on a pedestal mount. This 6-inch gun were certainly in position by 1907 (TNA WO 33/415). The old gun was discarded at the rear of the battery position where it can still be seen. A new gun emplacement was built but the old magazine and underground works for the 9-inch RML were re-used.















