St Andrew’s Bastion (Is-Swar ta’ Sant’ Andrija) was originally built after the Great Siege with work commencing in about 1566. The bastion is two tiered with massive limestone walls covering the Marsamxett Harbour and area around the South of Fort Manoel. To the rear of St Andrew’s Bastion was St Michael’s Bastion with a battery of coast defence guns. St Michael’s Bastion was an extension of Spencer’s Bastion.
In 1861 St Andrew’s Bastion mounted the following heavy guns: One 68-pdr, one 10-inch gun, five 8-inch guns, and two 24-pdr. These were all smoothbore guns. These nine guns were distributed thus:









