English Curtain

Posted on December 7, 2025 / 49
Listing Type : Coast Defence Battery
Location : Malta

The English Curtain was part of the original defence wall built around Valetta by the Knights of St John.  This section of the wall runs from the French Curtain round to St Sebastian Bastion.  The straight face of this curtain faces directly towards the open sea between Fort Tigne and Fort St Angelo.  It was therefore considered an important coast battery to defend the entrance to Marsamxett Harbour which lies around Manoel Island.

It is assumed that during the Knights period smooth bore guns were mounted along this front, but work commenced in September 1867 to upgrade this  with modern works.  It is reported that this work was not completed until March 1876, some nine years later.  The budget for this construction is shown as £1,537 but it was completed for £1,376.  Surviving plans held by the National Archives show that the front had the following armament:

Three 9-inch, 18 ton RML guns.  The gun on the apex of St Sebastian Bastion was mounted on a traversing carriage.  A twin 6-pdr emplacement was later built over this position.  The adjacent two positions were 9-inch RML guns behind iron shields.

Adjacent to these 9-inch guns were mounted eight 64-pdr RML guns on traversing carriages.  The central six guns are mounted in pairs, while the gun at each end is in a separate emplacement.  Ten traverses, some with expense magazine, separate the various groupings. The two 9-inch gun were in separate emplacements with an iron shield and thick traverses.

Six 10-inch Smooth Bore Mortars are on platform on the right flank.  They have their own magazine situated in the middle.

Underneath the 10-inch Mortar Battery and sally port was built, the front of which was shielded by a stone traverse.  The plan shows that this entrance which was only about two feet wide and required users to follow a ‘Z’ shaped set of stairs to gain access.  This access point was later widened to a larger entrance with metal gate.

In 1900 notes indicate that part of 9-inch RML position on St Sebastian Bastion was used in connection with the Submarine Mining activities.  On of the underground magazines was converted to a test room, while  a Submarine Mining Observation Post was built on the apex of the bastion.

Underneath the 10-inch Mortar Battery and sally port was built, the front of which was shielded by a stone traverse.  The plan shows that this entrance was only about two feet wide and required users to follow a ‘Z’ shaped set of stairs to gain access.  This access point was later widened to a larger entrance with metal gate.

The original battery from 1876 has now been lost under development.  The St Sebastian Bastion had a twin 6-pdr Q.F. Battery built on it during World War 2 and this covered most of the 9-inch RML positions.  The old 64-pdr RML emplacements and Mortar Battery have been used as a road and for parking.  The traverses and magazines have been demolished.

The only plans in respect of English Curtain found at the National Archives are in MPHH 1/75.  This includes plans dated September 1886 and March 1887.

    Reviews
    There are no reviews yet, why not be the first?
    Leave a Review
    You must be to post a review.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Related Listings