
Corran Point Battery on the tip of Carrig Island, was built by 1814. The site has some times been called Curran Point or Carrig Battery. The Battery was intended to act in conjunction with Scattery Island Battery, some two miles away. The Battery mounted six 24-pr SB guns in barbette positions with two 5.5-inch howitzers on the roof of the defensible barracks.
In 1868 the 24-pdr guns were replaced with 68-pdr smoothbore guns.
Much of the battery has been lost because the stones in the retaining walls have all be taken for building elsewhere. The ditch and ramparts have therefore all collapsed, leaving just a general outline of the whole battery complex. The defensible barrack however still survive.
The defensible barracks are, as is usual for these batteries, constructed from dressed stone. The side facing the battery interior features a semi-circular arched doorway, complete with two overhead pulleys used to operate a heavy drawbridge across the dry moat. A rooftop gun platform (with two 5.5-inch howitzers) is accessed via an intramural staircase built directly into the thickness of the wall similar to the other batteries on the Lower Shannon. The first floor is a barracks while the basement is used for storage. While the south face of the defensible barracks has not apertures, the east and west walls are punctuated by a mix of loopholes and embrasures.
Curran Point Battery was decommissioned in 1889 or 1891.












