
Victoria Battery was built between 11th November 1888 and 20th October 1890 to mount a single 9.2-inch BL Mark IV gun on RCD mounting. The total cost of construction was £4079, some 30% over the estimated budget. The single gun pit had the underground magazine immediately to the rear. These underground works included a main cartridge store, cartridge lobby, shell passage, shell lobby, artillery store and small general store. One each side of the emplacement, above the underground works, were raised positions with a Direction Range Finder (DRF). There was a separate shell and cartridge lift for the ammunition.
Victoria Battery was never upgraded and became redundant by 1908, its role probably assumed by the five guns at Mount Davis Battery. An image of the original gun, taken in about 1925 can be seen HERE.
The United Kingdom National Archives
WO 78/5563 Original plans for 9.2-inch gun