
Pinewood Battery was built between June 1901 and November 1905 to mount two 6-inch Mark VII BL guns. The total cost of construction was £9,579, some £2000 over the original budget. By 1910 Pinewood Battery was removed from the armaments list and but it is not known when the two 6-inch guns were removed.
The 6-inch Battery at Pinewood has largely been lost under redevelopment for the later Anti Aircraft (A.A.) batteries. The actual gun emplacements were used for 3-inch A.A. guns and new battery command positions were built. Much the same it true with Sai Wan Hill Battery built at roughly the same time.
In 1940 emplacements were built for two 4.5-inch HAA guns but these were never installed. By 1941 there were two 3-inch AA guns mounted, presumably in the old 4.5-inch emplacements.
The UK National Archives
WO 78/5362 Original plans for the 6-inch Battery 1905

















