The Hong Kong Submarine Mining Establishment was built on the land adjacent to the main Victoria and Wellington Military Barracks. Although now heavily redeveloped the original S.M.E. was close to what was known as Harcourt Garden on the land adjacent to Police Headquarters. Established in 1878, at about the same time as the SME in Singapore and Ceylon (Sri Lanka), it would remain active until at least 1907 when the submarine mining transferred from the Royal Engineers to the Royal Navy.
The R.E. building in this plan from 1898 are for the Royal Engineers operating the Submarine Mining.

