Hugonin Battery was approved for construction on 2nd May 1898 and it was built between 2nd May 1898 and 15th November 1899. The cost of construction was under budget, some £5,683. Hugonin Battery mounted four 12-pdr Quick Fire guns. The gun line included five underground casemates. The four shell and cartridge stores held 800 pieces each.

Two underground crew shelters, with one located at each end of the battery.
An artillery store, located in the middle of the battery between the B and C guns.
Two magazines, split between a cartridge store and shell store. One located between A and B guns and the other between C and D guns.
These underground features have been effectively sealed with iron above surface structures. It is therefore assumed the underground casemates have survived.
Plans for Hugonin Battery dated 1903 (TNA WO 78/4849) show a single Position Finding Cell located 10 feet from the South East corner of the quarters block. It is not thought anything remains of this structure. Plans of the Battery from 1897 show possibly two Position Finding Cells at this location, but one structure is not labelled. (TNA WO 78/3958)
















