
The Fortress Commanders Post was built at this location between 1st November 1897 and 30th June 1998 at a cost of £300. The main building was at the top of Charles V in what is now an area for the feeding of aps, St Michaels Gate. Little remains of the structure itself which was a quare building with a large room for the Fortress Commander and one for the Section Commander, each with an adjoining telephone room. The railing and steps on the top of the wall, above the apes den, was originally a viewing position.
This position appears to have taken over from the original Fortress Command Post at Prince Ferdinand’s Gate built in 1895. This position is at the lower end of the Charles V Wall, see separate entry here.
The Fortress Command Position at St Michaels Gate was itself superseded by the Fortress Command Position built on Mount Misery below Breakneck Battery. This was a far more elaborate position built in 1905, see separate entry here.


