Duntze Head Battery was originally built to mount two 6-pdr Hotchkiss guns and was completed in 1900. By 1904 a new battery had been built adjacent to the old 6-pdr Battery to mount two 12-pdr QF guns. The 12-pdr Battery replaced the original battery.
Adjacent to the battery was an Engine Room to power the defence electric lights, and a Test Room for the submarine mine field. There was a short tunnel connecting the Test Room with the submarine mine observation station which overlooked the minefield.
Duntze Head Battery was designed to protect the minefield and work in conjunction with Belmont Battery, Red Rock Battery and four Defence Electric Lights for illumination.
During World War 2 a twin 6-pdr gun was placed here, but only outlines of this emplacement can be seen.