
Listing Type : Coast Defence Battery
Location : Ireland
Number 1 Battery was built between 1861 and the early 1870s to mount four 7-inch RML on Moncrieff mountings (Patten II).
In about 1901 the battery was converted to mount three 12-pdr Q.F. guns. A platform were built at the front of the old gun pits, with steps up the side. The 12-pdr gun was then proud of the original Moncrieff pit. The rear of the pit was then covered in as a crew shelter. The most Northerly pit was converted to a cook house, again after being roofed over. This conversion to a three gun 12-pdr Battery was not the same as done with the Lower Left Battery at Fort Camden about the same time.










