
Right Upper Battery was initially built to mount three 10-inch RML gun in barbette emplacements. The emplacements were separated by traverses with magazines in them. The guns were on three tiers or levels, with the lowest 10-inch gun emplacement surviving. These plans are dated 1886, and the actual date of construction is shown as unknown. (UK TNA WO 78/4317).
A couple of the old 10-inch RML guns can still be seen around the parade where they have been partially buried to function as post (pivot) for moving heavy items.
About 1900 the battery was converted to mount three 12-pdr Q.F. These 12-pdr positions were built over the old Number 1 and Number 2 gun positions. The third 10-inch RML emplacement survives as does one of the original magazines.
On the right of the Battery (East side) there is open topped observation position for the battery commander. See image.














