The Fort Camden site was originally used for a coast defence battery, James’ Battery, which was built in the 16th Century. A small fort was built here in 1775 with a sister location built adjacent at Fort Carlisle. At this time it was known as Ram Head Battery.

A rough plan of Fort Camden (Ram Head) dated 1779 copied from National Archives MPF 1/159. The guns are all concentrated on the shore line, what are now referred to as the Lower Batteries. There was previously a landing point towards the South end as shown on the rough map. The buildings were barracks and magazines. The basic layout shows the footprint of the later Fort Camden as built in the 1860s.
Fort Camden was built between 1862 and 1874 on the opposite headland to Fort Carlisle. These two forts were intended to protect the entrance to Queenstown Harbour. Fort Cumberland on Spike Island provided an additional fortification.
Fort Camden not only had coastal defence batteries but that land approaches were covered by a ditch 40 feet deep and 28 feet wide. The terreplein on the landward side had no gun emplacements, being designed for movable armaments (20-pdr RBLs) to be used here. There was a single double caponier in the moat.
The coast defence batteries built at Fort Camden were divided into the Upper and Lower batteries. These two location were linked by an open trackway and and protected flight of steps than ran from the main magazine.
UPPER BATTERIES
Left Upper Battery
Three 7-inch RML guns on barbette mountings.
In 1896 upgraded to two 6-inch BL guns.
Right Upper Battery
Originally mounted three 10-inch RML guns in barbette positions. Only one of these survives.
In 1890 converted to mount three 12-pdr Q.F. Batteries.
LOWER BATTERIES
Left Lower Battery
Initially built in 1877 to emplace three 7-inch RML gun on Moncrieff disappearing mounts.
In 1897 converted to mount three 12-pdr Q.F. guns
Minefield Battery
Built in 1989 to mount three 6-pdr Q.F. guns to protect the minefield.
Right Lower Battery
This mounted four 10-inch RML guns in iron casemates.
In 1898 a Brennan Torpedo Station was built on the foreshore at Fort Camden with a single slipway. A second Brennan Torpedo slipway was later added. The only other location with two Brennan Torpedo slipways was at Cliffe End Fort on the River Thames.
By 1886 Fort Camden had the following total armament:
- Seven 10-inch RML gun (four in iron casemates)
- Six 7-inch RML guns (Three in Moncrieff Pits)
- Four 40-pdr RBL (mobile)
- Two 10-inch SB mortar
- Two 64-pdr RML for practice purposes
By 1892 there were plans to mount both 9.2-inch and 6-inch guns in Fort Camden, but all that was actually mounted was:
- Seven 10-inch RML gun
- Four 40-pdr RBL (moveable armament)
- Three 6-pdr QF (minefield defence)
- Four 32-pdr SBBL in the caponier
Between 1871 and 1887 a Submarine Mining Station was built at Fort Camden with a dedicated pier. This was also the principle location for the sub depot for Submarine Mining built on Berehaven Island. The facilities included storage sheds for the mines as well as safety pits for the fuse setting.
By 1905 two 6-inch Mark VII BL guns had been mounted at thee Upper Left Battery, Fort Camden and a total of five 12-pdr QF guns.
Instead of further expanding the breech loading guns at Fort Camden a new coast defence fortification was built a little further along the coast, Templebreedy Battery. The building of Templebreedy Battery, with two 6-inch and two 9.2-inch BL guns, removed any need to further upgrade Fort Camden. In contrast, Fort Carlisle had both a 6-inch BL gun battery and 9.2-inch gun battery added.
Research has revealed that in about 1974 concrete was used extensively by the Royal Engineers for buildings on Fort Camden. This concrete is believed to have been blue lias concrete and Portland cement concrete. Fort Camden therefore includes some the earlies use of mass concrete in fortifications.





















