Boaz Island Submarine Mining Establishment

Bermuda
Posted on January 13, 2025 / 23
Listing Type : Submarine Warfare
Location : Bermuda

The Boaz Island Submarine Mining Establishment was built between 1st May 1874 and 28th March 1875 and was a supplementary Establishment to the main one at St Georges Island.  This small establishment included a Stores Building, a Test Room, Carpenters and Smiths Shops.  The total cost of these works was £640, £100 under budget.

The Loading Shed was built a little later, between 25th May 1875 and 25th March, 1876 at a total cost of £118, some £4 under budget.

The Boaz Island Submarine Mining Establishment included a railway track that ran from one side of Boaz Island to the other.  There was a small sea pier at each end of this line. Thus mines could be shipped in from the St Georges Island Submarine Mine Establishment, and then move by rail to the other side of the Island for subsequent deployment on the North side of the Islands.  It is believed that these mines were intended for Chubb Cut which was under the control of the Daniel’s Head Submarine Mining Station.

 

    Related Listings