
Beacon Point Battery was built after 1877 for the purposes of training the Devon Volunteer Artillery (1st Devon Volunteer Artillery). The Battery was on a cliff edge on a ridge near the summit of Beacon Point. The Battery initially mounted a single 32-pdr SB and a 64-pdr RML. In 1889 the 32-pdr was replaced by a 64-pdr RML gun. The guns were initially mounted on garrison carriages, but in the early 1890s these were replaced by wooden traversing platforms on a concrete platform.
This was to all intents and purposes a practice battery only.
In 1908 with the disbandment of the Volunteers, Beacon Point Battery was abandoned. The bulk of the gun emplacements have now fallen down the cliff, although earlier photographs show the remains of a single emplacements with a pair of racers. It is believe little, if anything, remains of this battery. It is still possible to see some concrete on the top of the hill, where the flagstaff was located, and the magazine can still be seen although a ruin.






